I Could Not Kill My Fish

He was just little guy swimming around and doing his thing. All it took was a dash of neglect to infect my little fishy friend, and he caught the fin rot. He came to me that way. When my mother abandoned her turtles with me, a few days later she showed up with these goddamn fish.

A boy fish and a girl fish, though, they were both boy fish. Two Siamese fighting fishies, ferocious little bettas. One was more blue, the other more pink so my heinous heteronormative mind assigned the blue one as “him/he” and the pink one as “her/she.” Shame on me.

I will just say I was too busy curing these sick fishies to break barriers. She healed up quickly. She was spunky from the first water change, the poor thing. Her name is Happy now. She is happy now.

He was happier, for sure. After acquiring late night red eyes from bright computer screens studying betta sickness varieties, I learned they needed way more space. They needed heat. Bettas are not little bowl hosts of the most boring circus show. Please remember that.

img_1285

I comfort my selfish self with knowing he was happier at least for a bit before his rot receded more stealing that glorious fin of his. I tried all the suggestions: many water changes, heat and salt, and then went through a few different medications.

For five weeks we battled what was consuming him. The past five days I knew what I had to do, but I could not do it. His energy had depleted. No more happy bubbles were skimming the top of the water. The past five days he laid gasping at the bottom of his bowl, his “hospital tank.” I put an oxygen pump in there, kept him warm, and made sure to scoot the brine shrimp, his last couple of meals close enough to his mouth to effortlessly nibble. What a joke, though. What a heartless bitch.

When I would go to do it, my movement would make him dart around the tank, zig zags of will still within him, that’s what I told myself. He still had the will to live. It was not the time for the giving of permanent mercy.

But it was. I should have done it. Instead, he was miserable because I am a selfish creature. I could not bear to kill my fish so I let my fishy suffer.

In the event of a zombie apocalypse, somehow I know I could shoot my boyfriend between the eyes if it came down to it … but what about my cats? My turtles? Would I let them starve to death because I could not feed them a tricky supplemented supper that would put them in forever sleep?

I would not want pets in the event of a zombie apocalypse. Because they are not pets. They are my innocent and loyal little friends whom I love so much. And yet I could put a bullet between the eyes of my human friends, as quickly as my boyfriend if I *had* to. I don’t know why I am so sure, but I am surely not quite right for knowing I am correct in my hypothetical assessment.

I could not kill my fish, and I had the nerve to cry when he died the slow death, taking that last breath. It didn’t have to be so bad for him, his end of life. I should have swiftly eliminated that suffering, but I didn’t. I feel it is the equivalent of watching an animal cry on the side of the road after being hit by a car and doing nothing.

It’s far too easy to ignore what you cannot hear, and that is terribly unfortunate. Often times it is the silence that needs to make it to your ears with it’s powerful, wordless message. Animals cannot tell us what is wrong so we have to pay attention. Their whimpers are clues, but what about the little fishes that make no sounds at all? We really must try harder to be in tune with the quiet presence of the silent present.

And how the fuck do we do that? Pipe the fuck up and tell me. I feel like shit over this. And now I have visions of crying animals on the side of the road. Thanks, bitch. You idiot.

19 thoughts on “I Could Not Kill My Fish

  1. Having the power of life and death over another living thing should not be taken lightly. However, Mother Nature has provided us many things on this planet, including living things that provide sustenance. (I’m not ashamed to admit that I sometimes eat tuna fish. Liking tuna fish does not make me a bad person. If we’re not supposed to like tuna fish, then why does mayonnaise exist?) Mother Nature also provides living things for the sake of beauty and appreciation.

    Just like how kids get cancer, other living things get sick, too. Humans have created things that heal, but we cannot cure everything. Such is life. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. WordPress has many glitches. Best just to let them sort it out. Eventually. They just made some more changes to my theme. I can’t access the Reader from my main page, etc. I’d like to think WP has a good reason for fixing something that ain’t broke, but I’m thinking, probably not.

    I like tuna pasta salad. With hard boiled eggs, celery, and onions. Hellman’s mayo. Good stuff. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Your post has not left my mind and I don’t want you to agonize or live in blame. To euthanize goes against human nature. Being bipolar, living with intense emotion, makes the thought of this act unbearable to even imagine, let alone follow through with. I can say ‘don’t feel guilty’ but I can’t because I’ve been in your shoes and know its impossible. I lost my cat, George, under similar circumstances. Knowing I needed to make that decision but being unable to. His loss made worse because of the guilt that I’d made him suffer. Until I eventually took this outlook:

    You know that phrase ‘the light went out of his eyes’? Well, as he became more ill, I saw this slowly happen. I believe it was at that point his soul left his body behind. But he continued for my sake out of love, giving me the time to prepare myself for the inevitable. At this point, even though it appeared he was suffering, he wasn’t. The part of him that felt pain had already left. 10 Years later, when I’m sad and crying, I still cry and tell him ‘I’m so sorry’. Animals are pure love. They would never want us to suffer. You did nothing wrong. There was nothing ‘better’ you could have done. You loved Him, and that is all he desired. Animals don’t judge, or blame or curse, they love unconditionally – dog, cat, bird and fish. My thoughts are with you in your sorrow. Remember, a part of grief is guilt. So its natural. Its part of the process and not because you did anything wrong.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. As I read this I felt like some gentle fairy was sprinkling magic glitter on me. Thank you for your words and thank you for caring! I had a George. I miss her nearly every day and I lost her when I was 14-years-old. The agony, goddamn torture of losing them- it’s hell but it’s worth it. It really is. One of my cats now, my girl cat, sometimes when she lays on me and I am emotional (ha,) I will suddenly start crying those thick hot tears that just cake your cheeks, you know?
      Because it will suddenly hit me, I realize and tell her, “Oh my god, you’re going to die some day.” And … I swear, the bitch loves these moments. She just nuzzles down and purrs like, “Yeah, so worship me in the meantime.”
      She really soaks it up and then uses her soft mew to coax wet cat food into her bowl later.
      Then she returns to being her usual cranky asshole self and I worship her. All of the, “crazy cat lady” insults make me scoff. I cannot dream up a better life than being surrounded by my felines.
      Crazy lady with no kitties or crazy lady WITH kitty cats!? It doesn’t take a rocket doctor…

      Liked by 2 people

      1. I’m not allowed animals where I live and it kills me. I had imagined a life of peace with a dog or cat. Co-workers suggested a fish, but like you say, i know he will die at some stage and my heart wouldn’t make the heartbreak. Georgie would be awol roaming in the garden. I’d be cry softly in the bedroom and next thing there is like a furry houdini, purring and comforting. Wherever he was he knew I was crying and he would come to my rescue. You can’t tell me animals aren’t intelligent, articulate and connect on a soul level. I join you on the ‘crazy cat lady’ registry 🙂

        Liked by 2 people

  4. Right before my husband left to Iraq for 7 months, we thought it’d be a great idea to get a little tank with some fish. 😳 ended up being the worst idea ever! I thought they would be easy to take care of? No! I ended up spending tons of money on books, solutions, medicines trying to diagnose and cure my little fishers that kept dying off. I felt like a terrible person. Eventually they all died and I have vowed never to have fish again!!! 😜 sorry about your little fishy!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Feeling chatty?